PUCL Bulletin, June 2001

Jamshedpur PUCL:
Report on the Annual General Body Meeting and General Election

PUCL, Jamshedpur held its annual meeting on 25th February 2001 at the Conference hall of the Tata Workers Union, Jamshedpur, from 10.30 am to 5 pm with lunch break of one hour between 1.30 to 2.30pm.
The forenoon session was devoted to review the past activities and to plan for future programmes.

All the members took part in the proceedings with great interest and enthusiasm.

The highlight of the session was the speech delivered by Dr. Prabhakar Sinha, National Vice President, PUCL. Besides the invitees from Ranchi PUCL also spoke on this occasion. After a thorough discussion the Secretary's Report was presented by Shri Nishant Akhilesh and adopted with some amendments. The members felt that the activities of PUCL should be further strengthened and widened to cover the rural areas.

In the second session the Expenditure Account of PUCL Jamshedpur was presented by the Treasurer Mr. Kundan Tigga and the same was unanimously passed. Thereafter, the session converted itself to hold the general election for the next 2-year term. Mr. R. K. Palit, Senior Advocate and noted Gandhian philosopher and author chaired the session as the Returning Officer and conducted the Election, which was held as per Democratic norms. After the election Mr. Palit declared the new committee elected as under:

Patron: Mr. RK Palit; President: Mr. Subroto Bhattacharjee; Vice-President: Mr. MK Dutta, Mr. TP Ghose; General Secretary: Mr. Nishant Akhilesh; Organising Secretaries: Mr. Vinay Kr. De, Mr. Amit Kr. Maity, Mr. Amitabh Kumar; Treasurer: Mr. Kundan Tigga; Member of Executive Committee: Mrs. Sheela Bhattacharjee, Mr. Dolly Banerjee, Mr. GC Das, Mr. P Banerjee, Mr. SR Nag, Mr. Anjan Sarkar, Mr. Basant Kr. Sharma, Mr. Kaushal Kr. Sharma.
Besides, the Bihar State Council members have been elected as under:
Mr. Subroto Bhattacharjee, Mr. MK Dutta, Mr. Vinay Kr. De, Mr. Amitabh Kumar, Mr. GC Das.

Meeting concluded with vote of thanks proposed by Mr. MK Dutta and recitation of poems by Mr. RK Palit and Dr. Prabhakar Sinha.

Home | Index